Our governing Board is responsible for agreeing the strategic direction of the Association.

It sets the Association’s values and standards and monitors the extent to which we are achieving our high level aims and ambitions. It is also responsible for ensuring we fulfil our legal responsibilities and meet the expectations of our Regulators including the Scottish Housing Regulator.

There are 12 places on our Board. Board members all give their time on a voluntary basis, receiving no payment with the exception of travel expenses and subsistence. They bring considerable knowledge and expertise from a variety of different backgrounds and receive full induction when elected and make a commitment to ongoing training and development. May 2015 – new Board members required – see advert here  What are we looking for from new Board members? – see commitments here.  See brief history here

Annually each Board member will receive an appraisal which will review the skills and knowledge they bring to the organisation as well as highlighting areas for continuous improvement.

Rena getting BEM

Rena is awarded her British Empire Medal June 2015

governance award - Claire and Brian
Claire Boyd and Brian Connelly MBE receive their governance qualification

Our Board meets monthly and no less than ten times during the year. We have a Policy Sub-Committee and ad hoc working groups to oversee specific operational activities of the Association including health and safety issues.

Our Board Office Bearers are:

Rena McGuire BEM – Chairperson
Claire Boyd – Vice Chairperson
Brian Connelly MBE – Secretary

Other Board members are:

  • Laura Hendry
  • Gavin McVicar
  • David McCready
  • Michael Mukhtar
  • Councillor Tommy Reilly
  • John Hamilton


  • We are always interested to hear from potential new Board members – contact our Chairperson or our Chief Executive for a chat. A Governing Board Summary handbook to provide some further details can be viewed – here 
Minutes are available in our download section.